Spiritualized – Lazer Guided Melodies

Artist: Spiritualized
Genre: Space-rock/Shoegaze/Psychedelic
Title: Lazer Guided Melodies
Label: Dedicated/BMG
Format: CD
Musicians:Jason Pierce – guitar (Fender Telecaster, Eko Rocket, acoustic guitar), dulcimer, autoharp, piano, vocals, Kate Radley – keyboards (Vox Continental, Farfisa, piano), vocals, Mark Refoy – guitar (Gretsch Country Gent, Epiphone Casino, Fender Telecaster), acoustic guitar, dulcimer, Will Carruthers – bass (Gibson Thunderbird)
Jonny Mattock – drums, percussion, dulcimer, Simon Clarke – flute, Roddy Lorimer – trumpet, Will Gregory – saxophone, Colin Humphries – cello, Martin Robinson – cello, Owen John – violin
Production, mixing – Jason Pierce
Mixing – Barry Clempson
Engineering – Angus Wallace, Barry, Clempson, Declan O’Regan, Mike Long, Paul Adkins
Mastering Engineer = Chris Blair

Spiritualized are an English space rock band. They formed in 1990 in Rugby, Warwickshire by Jason Pierce (often known as J. Spaceman), formerly of Spacemen 3. The membership of Spiritualized has changed from album to album, with Pierce—who writes, composes and sings all of the band’s material—being the only constant member. Continue reading

Music Genres and the expansion of the universe

I think it used to be that there were enough genres that one could count them all and remember them. Now days we have not only the main genres of music, but also new ones and sub-genres, it’s quite prolific. If you really want to get into the weeds, you can go into sub-genres.  Believe it or not there are also sub categories of sub-genres! Want to see? Ok, if you are brave enough: Continue reading

Voyager One – Monster Zero


Artist:Voyager One
Genre:Indie Rock (Shoegaze, Psych)
Title:Monster Zero
Label:Loveless Records
Musicians:Jeramy Koepping-guitars, keys,bass,vocals,loops,samples, Peter Marchese-vocals,guitars,bass,drums,keys, Dayna Loeffler-bass, keys,guitar,vocals, Matthew Campbell-trumpet, Tony Zuniga-drums. additional musicians: Ian Parks-pedal steel, Phil Petersen-cello,trumpet
Producer:Voyager One
Engineer:Jeramy Koepping
Mastering Engineer: Mell Dettmer

Voyager One was an American indie rock band from Seattle, Washington formed in 1998. The band’s musical style is shoegazing music played by Ride and Catherine Wheel. Yes, it is past-tense as they disbanded in 2011.

1) Out In The Marketplace – This is conversation over music and ironically it sounds to be sociological in nature and about marketing.
2) Wires – This has a kind of electronic/aboriginal sound flavor. The vocals aren’t that good, but work for this song. The chorus interestingly enough, is instrumental and is a sonic wall of sound.
3) Gun – This song starts out with a great bass line that goes throughout. Also note the airy keyboard vocal samples in the background. This is one of my favorites on the album.
4) Snow Angel Summer – I don’t know what to call this one, so it must be art. The drums are very thin and done on purpose that way I imagine. I don’t know why though. Not one of my favorite tracks.
5) Out and Over – This is less than 2 minutes in length. I call this the psychedelic cellos song, it’s actually not bad.
6) Ready Reset – You can plainly hear the Catherine Wheel influence in this great psychedelic/post rock song. Not that well produced, but still my favorite track on the album
7) Monster Zero – Obviously the title track. Again, this is not that well produced, mostly instrumental and not a particular favorite of mine.
8) Three Pair – This song starts off kind of poorly and then gets a little better, but still not that good. I really don’t know what else to say about it.
9) Bedbugs and Ballyhoo – If you are thinking Echo and the Bunnymen, you are correct, this is a cover of that song. I’ll say this, it is different. It’s slowed down and real noisy and dark and it is not my favorite version. I like the original far better.
10) Praise the Lowered – This is just an annoying instrumental
11) Tokyoidaho – This is the longest song on the album at 8 minutes. It’s a psychedelic spacey instrumental, but not well produced.

SOUND: 5_Star_Rating_System_3_and_a_half_stars

Ready Reset https://youtu.be/OvfAiJ42dfw