Lighthouse – Lighthouse

Artist: Lighthouse
Genre: Progressive rock, funk, rock, jazz fusion, pop, groove, psychedelic
Title: Lighthouse
Released: 1969
Format: Vinyl
Musicians: Skip Prokop / vocals, drums, leader, Paul Hoffert / keyboards, vibes
Ralph Cole / guitar, vocals, Grant Fullerton / bass, vocals, Pinky Dauvin / percussion, vocals, Ian Guenther / violin, Don Dinovo / violin, viola, Don Whitton / cello, Leslie Schneider / cello, Freddy Stone / trumpet, flugelhorn, Howard Shore / alto saxophone
Russ Little / trombone, Arnie Chycoski / trumpet, flugelhorn (uncredited)
Producer:Skip Prokop, Paul Hoffert
Arranger: Paul Hoffert, Freddy Stone

Lighthouse was formed in 1968 in Toronto by vocalist/drummer Skip Prokop (formerly of the Paupers) and keyboardist Paul Hoffert. The two met by coincidence on a flight from New York City to Toronto, and discussed forming a band structured around a rock rhythm section, jazz horn section, and classical string section. Prokop had admired Ralph Cole’s playing when they shared the bill at the Grande Ballroom in Detroit, so he brought him to Toronto to be the band’s guitarist. Prokop and Hoffert assembled the rest of the group from friends, studio session musicians, and Toronto Symphony Orchestra members, and proceeded to make a demo recording. On the advice of Richie Havens, Prokop and Hoffert took the demo to MGM Records in New York, who signed the band. Two days later they had a manager, Vinnie Fusco, out of Albert Grossman’s office, who overturned the MGM contract and made a deal with RCA Victor. Lighthouse made its debut on May 14, 1969, at the Rock Pile in Toronto.
Their first album, Lighthouse (this one), was released in 1969 by RCA from RCA’s Toronto Eastern Sound Studio Continue reading “Lighthouse – Lighthouse”

Strawbs – Ghost

Artist: Strawbs
Genre: Rock, Progressive Rock
Title: Ghost
Released: 1974
Label: A&M
Format: Vinyl
Musicians:Dave Cousins – lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, recorder, Dave Lambert – lead vocals, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
John Hawken – piano, electric piano, harpsichord, mellotron, Moog synthesizer, Hammond organ, pipe organ, Chas Cronk – backing vocals, bass guitar, acoustic guitar, Rod Coombes – backing vocals, drums, congas, percussion, Claire Deniz – cello on “Starshine/Angel Wine”
Producer:Tom Allom
Engineer: Tom Allom & Mick Glossop

While this isn’t the first Strawbs LP, it is the first one in my collection I randomly chose to review, so I’ll give some bio history here. Continue reading “Strawbs – Ghost”

Kansas – Song For America


Artist: Kansas
Artist Genere: Progressive Rock
Title: Song For America
Released: 1975
Label: Kirshner
Format: Vinyl
Musicians: Phil Ehart-drums & percussion, Steve Walsh-organ, piano, vibes, lead & backing vocals, synth, Kerry Livgren-Guitar, piano, clavinet, Moog, Oberheim & ARP synths, Rich Williams-acoustic & electric guitar, Robby Steinhardt-violin, viola, lead & backing vocals, Dave Hope-bass
Producer: Jeff Glixman & Wally Gold
Mastering Engineer: Tom Rabstenek

Kansas is an American rock band (I’d call them Progressive Rock as they have all the required elements), that became popular in the 1970s initially on album-oriented rock charts and later with hit singles such as “Carry On Wayward Son” and “Dust in the Wind”.
In 1969, Lynn Meredith, Don Montre, Dan Wright and Kerry Livgren (guitars, keyboards, synthesizers) were performing in a band called The Reasons Why in their hometown of Topeka, Kansas. After changing the band’s name to Saratoga, they started playing Livgren’s original material with Scott Kessler playing bass and Zeke Lowe on drums.
In 1970, they changed the band’s name to Kansas and merged with members of rival Topeka progressive rock group Continue reading “Kansas – Song For America”